Sunday’s coming

April 10, 2009 at 4:01 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 1 Comment

Today is a heavy day. There have been so many Easter’s that have passed me by and I have not truly taken the time to think about what this day (Good Friday) means to me. Today Jesus was beaten. Today he died alone on the cross. Today he was obediant even to death. Today is the day when the wrath of God was satisfied on top of Jesus’ shoulders. Today is the day that the curtain was torn in order for us to have constant fellowship with God. Today is the day the pathway was opened for us to spend eternity with God. Today he is our only hope. Today he is the only hope for this nation. Today he is the only hope for the world.

If you have grown up in church your whole life it is so easy to just let this day pass you by. Its easy to let our hearts become numb to this story because we have heard it so many times. For me this easter it is sweeter than it has ever been. It is truly becoming the heartbeat of who I am. Everything centers around the Gospel. My marriage, parenting, friendships, living day to day as a missionary- He is the center. He is my treasure. “for I am his and he is mine; bought with the precious blood of Christ.” I feel bought today 🙂

I explained to my 5 year olds in my class the other day what Jesus taking on the punishment for our sins truly means for us. My prayer for them and for my sweet son is that one day they will see the weight of their sin and how perfect our God is. I pray that they will see their need for God. I pray that repentance will come. I pray that the direction of their life is changed. I pray that they will live their lives as missionaries- dying to tell of the change and love that God has brought to their own lives. I pray that they would find God as their only joy. Their only peace. Their only trust. Their only hope. I pray that everything would be centered around the Gospel.

I read this verse yesterday and it hit me so hard.

“Blessed be the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of mercies and God of all comfort, who comforts us in all our affliction, so that we may be able to comfort those who are in any affliction, with the comfort with which we ourselves are comforted by God.” 2 Cor 1:3-4

I challenge you to look at what this day means for you. Is it the center of who you are? Is it a story you have always heard but never paid that much attention to? Did it once mean something to you? Have you forgotten your first love? Don’t let this Easter pass you by!

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. i just posted this same video on my blog today too…wow, you are right. it is a very heavy day. praise God that Sunday is coming! great post girl…thanks for sharing. i hope you guys are doing well!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

