My Favorite Purse

March 17, 2009 at 4:01 am | Posted in Uncategorized | 3 Comments

A while back I bought this purse:

purse1

I LOVE this purse! I bought it to support the Heartline Woman’s program in Haiti. Aaron just wrote about the impact that this ministry has on these woman’s lives.

“These women then sell their purses (through Heartline) and are able to make a personal profit off their products. They end up owning a sewing machine, keeping a portion of the profit and saving some in a personal banking account. In every practical way, they are learning skills and crafts to provide income and savings for themselves and their families. And they are incredibly skilled at it.”

I really love this program. They are empowering women by teaching them life skills. They have a website that you can check out here.

Inside of every purse they attach the name of the artist who made the purse. I always look at her name and think about her. Well tonight as I was looking around the Haitian Creation website and I found her!!

World meet Suzanne!

suzanne

“I am 33 years old. I am married and have two sons – six and three years old. My husband’s name is Menes Abellard, my sons are named Sumens and Menes Junior. We live in an area of the city called Pernier. I was born in Cayes, in the southern part of Haiti. I have three brothers and one sister. My whole family moved to Port au Prince in 1980, but then moved back to Cayes in 1987 when the city became too dangerous. I finished High School and then returned to Port au Prince for more education. I have attended trade schools for secretarial work, language, pastry cooking, and some sewing. I would like to become a business woman. I attend church in Port au Prince called Church on the Rock. Through all this I realize that in Haiti only God can make you realize your goals. I know someone who is older than I but never found work anywhere so they are not able to make anything for their family yet. I have been blessed! Even if we are suffering from something else God will take care of that, for He said I’m with you until the end.”

I love supporting these women! Please go to http://www.haitiancreations.com and support the women who are making these beautiful purses!! I am trying to talk Steven into letting me support Suzanne again!! 🙂 🙂

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Oooh….I am inspired! I may sell the current bag I am carrying so I can buy one of these bags! I wanted one from the Trade as One, but they had sold out of the one I liked before I got a chance. I even saw they had purse parties….very fun!

  2. Maris… THank you so much for sharing!! I’ve ordered one and am also going to host a purse party. Suzanne made my purse too – I can’t wait to get it! S
    Someday my husband and I hope to adopt from Haiti – we have three children already through domestic adoption, and are just waiting on God’s leading for the fourth. Thanks again for sharing your heart and your passion!
    Blessings!

  3. […] help a great organization! March 27, 2009 at 9:19 pm | In Uncategorized | I recently wrote a blog about my favorite purse and where it came from. There is a great organization in Haiti that is […]


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

