Family

March 17, 2009 at 7:35 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

I just recently took a trip to Nashville and had some great Q.T. with the fam. I was able to take August to meet my 2 living grandparents for the first time. It was a very special time for me!

Here is my sweet sweet grandmother meeting him- everything she said he laughed at!

momaw-and-a

4-generations

4 Generations!

momaw-and-me

I love this woman! πŸ™‚

This is my grandfather meeting him for the first time! His name is Henry, my dad’s real name is Henry and August is named after both of them. August Henry Bush πŸ™‚

pop-and-a

pop-and-a2 I love this one!!

And of course we had great time with my parents and brother! Its hard living so far away but the time we do have is so precious. We had lots of fun with the little man!

dan-and-a

Daniel and A

nana-and-a

Nana and her favorite little guy!

budro-and-a

Pops/Budro with his little man! I love this picture πŸ™‚

Fun times in Nashville!

My Favorite Purse

March 17, 2009 at 4:01 am | Posted in Uncategorized | 3 Comments

A while back I bought this purse:

purse1

I LOVE this purse! I bought it to support the Heartline Woman’s program in Haiti. Aaron just wrote about the impact that this ministry has on these woman’s lives.

“These women then sell their purses (through Heartline) and are able to make a personal profit off their products. They end up owning a sewing machine, keeping a portion of the profit and saving some in a personal banking account. In every practical way, they are learning skills and crafts to provide income and savings for themselves and their families. And they are incredibly skilled at it.”

I really love this program. They are empowering women by teaching them life skills. They have a website that you can check out here.

Inside of every purse they attach the name of the artist who made the purse. I always look at her name and think about her. Well tonight as I was looking around the Haitian Creation website and I found her!!

World meet Suzanne!

suzanne

“I am 33 years old. I am married and have two sons – six and three years old. My husband’s name is Menes Abellard, my sons are named Sumens and Menes Junior. We live in an area of the city called Pernier. I was born in Cayes, in the southern part of Haiti. I have three brothers and one sister. My whole family moved to Port au Prince in 1980, but then moved back to Cayes in 1987 when the city became too dangerous. I finished High School and then returned to Port au Prince for more education. I have attended trade schools for secretarial work, language, pastry cooking, and some sewing. I would like to become a business woman. I attend church in Port au Prince called Church on the Rock. Through all this I realize that in Haiti only God can make you realize your goals. I know someone who is older than I but never found work anywhere so they are not able to make anything for their family yet. I have been blessed! Even if we are suffering from something else God will take care of that, for He said I’m with you until the end.”

I love supporting these women! Please go to http://www.haitiancreations.com and support the women who are making these beautiful purses!! I am trying to talk Steven into letting me support Suzanne again!! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.