The Story

March 15, 2009 at 11:46 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 5 Comments

“No, the Bible isn’t a book of rules, or a book of heroes. The Bible is most of all a story. It’s an adventure story about a young hero who comes from a far country to win back his lost treasure. It’s a love story about a brave Prince who leaves his palace, his throne- everything- to rescue the one he loves. It’s like the most wonderful of fairy tales that has come true in real life!

You see, the best thing about the story is- its true. There are lots of stories in the Bible, but all the stories are telling one Big story. The story of how God loves his children and comes to rescue them.”

-Sally Lloyd Jones from the Jesus Storybook Bible

5 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I love love love this Bible!! We read it to Ava every night before bed 🙂 Miss you!!

  2. She is an amazing woman! We’ve “spoken” quite a few times and we love her storybook Bible! It’s amazing!!!

  3. really interesting quote mare! if people really viewed the bible in that manner (on a large scale), i think the face of christianity would look a lot different than it does. don’t you?

    can i play devil’s advocate for a second?

    what happens if someone were to take one of our fairy tales, and present them to our children as if a) all the things in the story REALLY happened EXACTLY as they are told b) actually DID use those stories to make larrrrrrrge sets of rigorous rules c) told our children that the way we view the story is the only way it can possibly be viewed and anyone else who tells it differently or says it means something different is wrong…and will be punished eternally for it?

    doesn’t sound like that fun of fairy tale all of the sudden 😉

    just playing a little devil’s advocate, plz forgive me.

  4. Jeffrey- first of all hear that my tone is loving 🙂
    I think it all boils down to how you interpret scripture. I do believe it is the words of God. I do long for my children to love the Bible! I do want them to see the love story behind it all but I do want them to take it very seriously!
    I think its all in how you look at the “rules” side of it. I think for us we are finally a very healthy church environment that doesn’t come from the “rules” side of things. The Bible is taught in a healthy perspective. Therefore we have gained a new love for the Bible once again with a fresh perspective.
    I think that you and I’s perspectives are a little different. I don’t think its all about rules anymore but I do believe these stories happened, I do believe that God is the only way to eternity and we live our lives in light of these things. However the way that we approach these things and disagreements that we may have with others who don’t follow the same is very different from what it used to be. There is a lot that goes into that. Am I missing what you are asking? I would love to hear your thoughts.

  5. yo mare. nah, you’re not missing what I was asking…because I wasn’t really asking anything, just playing devil’s advocate (you know how I like to press deeper into topics/questions and sometimes playing devil’s advocate is the best way to do that).
    .
    you’re right though, we do look at the illustration in your post from a lil different perspective…which is both ok and fruitful, imho.
    .
    i think it definitely rocks that you guys want to help cultivate a love for the Bible in your children and that yall feel that you’re in a healthier church environment. that’s awesome and I’m so glad you’ve fallen into that groove.
    .
    as i’ve said in an earlier IM convo, i’d love to video chat or something sometime so I can answer any questions u might have of how I come at things now. 😉
    .
    love ya mare!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

