Lessons from the DMV

January 23, 2009 at 5:42 am | Posted in Uncategorized | 6 Comments

We all know that the DMV is known as purgatory here on earth. Today was my day! I finally took a step toward becoming a Texan. I had the emissions test and drove myself and the cutest kid in the world on over to the DMV. I was a little reluctant because quite honestly I didn’t want to get rid of my pretty Tennessee plates for the ugly/boring Texas plates. I still don’t want to give up my drivers license either. However, I have no choice! Large ticket or ugly plates!

I knew going into it that the workers there were probably not going to be in the greatest mood. So I geared myself up to smile and love all over these great people that have a really sucky job. I was quite impressed with the Austin DMV office. It was nice. It actually had some color on the walls and carpet on the floors. The lady at the front counter was nice and I took my number and sat and waited to be called next. I was excited because I had gone in the right order to switch over my tags and thought that I had everything I needed with me. My number was called and I sat down with a huge smile on my face (remember I was going to be nice and love on this lady since she has a sucky job!). I spread out my papers and got ready to get my new ugly Texas plates!

This nice (:() woman then proceeded to tell me that I didn’t have all the information I needed. I did not know that I needed the bank that we financed the car through and the address. In that moment my “love” theory went out the window. She pushed MY button. Do you have a button? Do you know what yours is? I know exactly what mine is. She started to talk down to me. She started talking to me like I was an idiot. She asked me questions and made snide faces because I needed to call my husband to find out what bank we financed through. She couldn’t believe that I didn’t know what bank it was. I proceeded to assure her that yes indeed I know what bank we bank at but I do know that it is not the same bank that we financed the car through. I began seeing myself fighting to show her that yes I do have a brain and that I was smarter than what she was giving me credit for! She tapped her fingers on the desk and blew out her breath because I was not going fast enough. She made me feel like an idiot. I can handle a lot of things in this world that people throw at me but to be quite honest and open here one of my biggest insecurites/frustrations is being treated like I am an idiot. I struggled in school to keep up, I had to work twice as hard as everybody else did and always made lower grades. I was always so insecure about school and anything else that had to do with my intellect. I still fight those demons of insecurity so I really don’t do well when other people hit those nerves.

I finally got Steven and got the address and bank name that I needed after several more comments from her. The entire time I felt God reminding me to love. I fought back those reminders and reminded him about how much she had hurt my feelings and look at how rude she was being. I couldn’t even look at her anymore. I was so angry. I asked where I needed to go to get my license changed over and she handed me a piece of paper and told me that I would probably need to call ahead of time to see what I needed to bring with me. How nice of her. I again was so angry. I had forgotten one simple thing! I had everything else I needed. I didn’t even know that I needed the bank information for my car tags. I walked out of the building angry and knowing that I had failed at loving her.

I called Steven and cried and got my anger out. I sat in silence as I drove to meet him to have coffee. God reminded me again that I needed to love her. I began to plead my case to him. I think that sometimes I want to love for the response of what that love brings. I want to love to surprise people after they have encountered mean people all day. I want to love because it is overflowing from my heart but its extra great when they love back. Its easy to love when people love back. It is not easy to love when people push THAT button. I began to question how deep my love really is. I am able to love because I have been loved deeply by a great God who daily reminds me of the sacrifice he made for me. I have experienced no other love as great as his. I want to show others grace and that depth of love. But how far does that really go? What if? But they….!!! I am so pissed that she…..!!! I was reminded today that it is not the response that I love for. It is not because it is easy or convenient. I didn’t feel like she was worthy of my time or love. Who am I to judge who I can love and not love? Am I worthy of God’s time and love? Am I worthy of his son dying a horrible death to cover the sins that I have committed against a great God? It is because I have been shown love and grace even when I acted out and didn’t deserve it that I am to love. Its hard. I wish I had another chance. So today I am thankful for the lesson learned at the great DMV.

6 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Wow – I am very proud of you for braving the DMV by yourself Mare! I couldn’t have done it. I would have had an anxiety attack or something. Anyways, I’m glad you shared this slightly humorous story w/ a very serious lesson. I know it must have been hard (and yes I do have those buttons!) – but it’s beautiful to see how God transformed this really hard situation into something to stretch and grow your love for others. It’s encouraging and convicting!

  2. these darn texas tags are so ugly! i put mine off as long as i could too!

    the people at the dallas dmv weren’t exactly friendly either… perhaps we should start a ‘love the dmv’ campaign? maybe we can bake them cookies! that might help!

  3. So sorry Maris. I tried to tell Bush all the hold ups for you guys but I didn’t realize you would need to know that! I would have know who did my financing but not the address! Who knows that–good news is you made it! Did you get your license that day also?

  4. Thanks for this great post!! I think I needed that more than anything I’ve heard in a while. I, too, want to love others so that they will know there is Someone even greater who died for them. Unfortunately, I only want to love the unlovable who are nice to me. Thank you so much for reminding me that Jesus loves ALL and if I am trying to be more like Him, I will too.
    I miss you all so much. I hate not getting to love on August.
    I need to order pictures from Stephen! I’ll try to get to that soon.
    Love you!

  5. Thanks for this great post!! I think I needed that more than anything I’ve heard in a while. I, too, want to love others so that they will know there is Someone even greater who died for them. Unfortunately, I only want to love the unlovable who are nice to me. Thank you so much for reminding me that Jesus loves ALL and if I am trying to be more like Him, I will too.
    I miss you all so much. I hate not getting to love on August.
    I need to order pictures from Steven! I’ll try to get to that soon.
    Love you!

  6. oops! I tried to change Stephen to Steven when I reread it, but I had accidentally already sent it once.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

