Domestications

November 12, 2008 at 11:25 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 13 Comments

Hello all! We are finally getting internet in our apt this weekend. It is much needed for the 2 of us! I have felt so out of the loop! So Sunday we should have internet.

I am having fun staying home and not working. It is harder than I expected. Yesterday poor Steven came home from a prayer meeting and I was a bit frazzled. The little man had screamed all morning and I just needed a break! I love being at home. I can finally cook and clean the way I have wanted to. Steven and I have gotten some extra time in and it has been so great for us. I adore my husband. I know he is stressed to the max right now. He has so much going on in his family and we still haven’t sold our freaking house!!!!!!! Obama help us!! hahah just kidding. I am trying to figure out if I need to get a part time job for a little while. I think it could really be good. Any ideas?? I would just like to contribute to the monthly income a little! I would like to nanny. Whatever I do I would like to be able to stay with August without trying to sell something!

We are doing really good. August is changing daily it feels like. He is getting so much longer and doesn’t feel like an infant anymore. He looks like a baby! He is so precious. He is doing WONDERFUL at night and during the day its a different story!! He is inching closer and closer to sleeping through the night. I am so excited about this. With him sleeping so much at night he has been up a lot during the day. He has been soooooooooooooo fussy during the day here lately. Its hard. I don’t feel like I can hold him all day but he doesn’t like it much if I don’t. Its getting harder to go places unless he sleeps the whole time. I know this is just the beginning of hard! Today I started naps in his bed. I am trying to pick out 2 good times during the day for him to sleep in his own bed and take a nap. I think this will help with the crankiness. He is such a wonderful boy.

Last night I had a knitting party at my apt! I know…. how domestic of me! I have always wanted to learn how to knit and sew. I am off and running. Its been hard for me to put it down today! I don’t even really know what I am making but it is so fun! Jamie took some pictures of last night that I have to share! My friend Ruth is my inspiration for this. She sent August the CUTEST blanket I have ever seen and it was at that point that I decided that I wanted to really learn how to do this.

img_00982
I look lost don’t I!?! Its because I was- and at that point I wasn’t even holding the sticks right! You should see how far I have gotten today! This is our fearless leader Katie. She is amazing!

img_0100

Crazy girls! Love them and can’t wait to spend more time with them!

Jamie where are you!? I should have taken the camera from you and captured your amazing knitters skills on camera! We will see next week what we have all done with the project we started last night! I love being domestic!! Have I mentioned that I love Austin, Texas here lately???? You can knit anywhere but Austin is very knitter friendly and lets just face it- I love Austin!

13 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Maris,
    Email me about the part time job thing?
    I have a thought or two.
    tracie@christianadoptionconsultants.com

  2. My daughter always found carrying her babies in a sling during the day when they were fussy helped immensely. She was still able to do the things she wanted because she had both hands free!…and the baby loved being able to snuggle close to their mommy.

  3. loved last night!!! i have done a little knitting today, but not as much as I would like to!

    part time job … um looks like Tracie might have some ideas! i can’t wait to hear them. I had a part time job when the kids were little. you know what i did …. MDO – it worked well for us. I brought in a little (and i mean little!!!) paycheck but was able to be at the same place with my kids and could check in on them hourly if i wanted to!!!

    i know what you mean about feeling like you need to contribute …. girl i have those feelings about once a month!

    love you.

  4. OH MAN! i’m so bummed to have missed out on the fun. NEXT TIME i’m down for sure!

    i seem to remember that trips out to manor seem to keep august on his best behavior. we’ll have to get you two out here pronto! 😉

  5. oh and michelle: that’s going to get added to the slideshow for someone’s visit next month!

  6. Awesome! So excited for next week! I was up REALLY late last night knitting. not gonna lie. Thanks so much for having us over! I’ll probably have a sweater or something cool like that done for next week. 😉 So watch out.

  7. Just out of curiosity, how much are you asking for your house? Michael and I are living in an apartment, and even though ya’lls house is in Murfreesboro, you never know what God has planned. Shoot me an email and we’ll see how it goes.

  8. you are KNITTING now?!? are you kidding me? who are you and what have you done with my best friend?!?

    [and can you please teach me?!?]

  9. i’m so glad you girls had such a fun night. next week i’ll have to take little man with me so you can knit in peace. love you so much

  10. I just wanted to add my two cents about baby slings. Especially right around August’s age. Babies just love to be close and cuddled and a sling is great for that and it lets you do what you need to do. Check out Ebay for some great options. Pocket slings aren’t adjustable, but if you each get one in your size you should be fine. You can also buy adjustable ones too. Just depends on what your preference is.

  11. I love that you had a knitting party. I’d like to learn to knit too. I’ve got a book but its no help! You should do a tutorial on your blog!

  12. -Tracie- I just emailed you 🙂
    -Marie, Leslie- I have been carrying him around in his sling A LOT these last couple of days. Its helping!
    -Leslie P- Omm you say the word and any day I am out to Manor!! I would love to come hang out! I could bring the pet RAT we just caught in our apt to hang out with your little mouse friends!!
    -Steven- Next week I am knitting you a new pair of boxers!! How does that sound? Itchy??? haha love you baby
    -Katie!!! Hi girly!!! Miss you so much and I am so glad I found your blog now!!
    -Dana- omm what is your email address and don’t play with my emotions!! haha, We would love for you two to live in our house!!
    -Ginger- if you would come to Austin I would teach you of my wonderful craftmanship. Haha. I messed up on my scarf and have to figure it out by next week!
    -Emily- SO SO FUN!! Can’t wait to see you next week!

  13. Hey maris –

    Glad to see ya’ll are doing well. Check out http://www.jobslinger.com . It has mystery shopping on there. Yes – Mystery shopping. I just started. I made probably 150 this month with just two different companies. I like it because I choose if ..and daddy can watch my boys. They email you an opportunity and then you can choose if you want to do it. They give you so many days to complete it and then you fill out form online and you get paid. Not too shabby….I have also found if you check out different blogspots (momsbyheart.blogspot.com, etc.) they offer great ways to save money for instance coupons, gifts, good deals. good luck. I also however to work outside the home the first week of the month for 8 hours. Very Very Parttime but its just enough to get me out of the house, keep my sanity, and remember how lucky I am to be able to spend time with my boys.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

