Random

September 5, 2008 at 3:26 am | Posted in Life, Updates | 1 Comment

*Today I rode the bus all the way (BY MYSELF) downtown and hung out at the coolest coffee shop I have ever been to. Its called Dominican Joes. They do so much work in the Dominican Republic and I must say I had the prettiest and best vanilla late I have ever had!!

*I love riding the bus. I really think that if you want to have a heart for the city then you can really cultivate that heart by riding the bus. I saw a mom with 5 kids and a stroller get on today like she does it everyday. I shared the same bus with a homeless man and his guitar, a man with a seeing eye dog and a man in a wheel chair. I shared a bus with many different ethnicities and heard many different languages. I also smelled many levels of body odor that I had never smelled before! It is all part of it. I just feels good to be with all of us ya know? We spend so much time being segregated and its just great to all be together.

*Speaking of the mom with 5 kids. She got onto the bus and her kids kinda scattered to find seats. She had a son with her who looked to be about 9 or 10. He was beautiful. He was bi-racial and had the biggest brown eyes and eyelashes I have ever seen. He walked by and sat down behind me. I looked back and almost lost it. He just had no expression on his face but his eyes said everything. They are the kind of eyes that look straight through you. The kind of eyes that when you look at him they are all you see. I so many times wonder what my sweet August will look like. This little boy made my heart melt today.

* Call me crazy but I really think I am going to try glass bottles. I am reading up on them and I just really think I like them. I copied this part of an article from this link (http://www.environmentcalifornia.org/reports/environmental-health/environmental-health-reports/toxic-baby-bottles) and it pretty much was the icing on the cake for me.

Bisphenol A is a Developmental, Neural, and Reproductive Toxicant

  • Scientists have linked very low doses of bisphenol A exposure to cancers, impaired immune function, early onset of puberty, obesity, diabetes, and hyperactivity, among other problems.
  • For example, in one recent study, a single, low dose of bisphenol A administered to a newborn rat resulted in hyperactive behavior

Now I know that I was probably fed with these same bottles and yada yada yada but hey I think I am going to continue on my path to hippiness and try out the old glass bottles. I guess I better put them on my registry!!

*Did I mention that I had the best vanilla latte I have ever had today? I am sitting here thinking about how and when I could get another one of them. Craving it!!!!!

*I really love my husband. I mean really. He has been so strong during this whole process and talks sense into my emotional ramblings. I just cannot fathom why God put him and I together sometimes. I can’t wait to see him be a dad. I can just see how soft his heart is towards kids right now.

*Speaking of Steven I gave him my 5 year plan today!! I told him where I would like to see our family be in the next 5 years. I would like to have August for a while and then start the adoption process for a South American country for a sweet little girl. Mean while while we are waiting for her to come home I would like to try and get pregnant. I don’t think he really enjoyed my 5 year plan. He started sweating and shaking his head. hahhaha I love him and I am only half joking!

*I am starting the “Tamar” book from the Francine Rivers series of the women of faith. I am just a little bit into it but am really excited. Oh and by the way I checked it out from local library! I love it!

*I love being around the Ivey kids. I think it is really good for me in this stage of life. Its just great to be around kids 24/7. I love them more than they could ever know!

*I LOVE AUSTIN!!!!! I wish we could afford to live downtown. Maybe one day!

ok thats it. I just wanted to ramble!

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Hey Maris–We use glass bottles and our girls loved them from day one. We bought just the basic Evenflo glass bottles at Babies R Us and bought the silicone nipples. The bottles are so easy to clean and I don’t have to worry about BPA or any plastic melting into my child’s milk. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

