Thoughts from MLK

February 20, 2008 at 3:44 am | Posted in adoption, Consumption, Life, love, poverty, Questions, Thoughts on God | 7 Comments
 
 

“It has been my conviction ever since reading Rauschenbusch that any religion that professes concern for the souls of men and is not equally concerned about the slums that damn them, the economic conditions that strangle them, and the social conditions that cripple them is a spiritually moribund (1. in a dying state, near death 2. on the verge of extinction or termination 3. not progressing or advancing, stagnant) religion only waiting for the day to be buried. It well has been said, “A religion that ends with the individual, ends.” -MLK

Why would we be concerned about the souls of others and not their lives here? ARE we concerned about the souls of others? Are we concerned for their lives here?

We should be recognized for our love for souls and our love for life here!

Any thoughts from this quote? I have many more but would love to hear yours!

Is the reason we feel stagnant in life because we are so focussed on ourselves and not the lives of others?

7 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. […] she posted a very thought provoking quote by king that ended with this statement…“A religion that ends with the individual, ends.” i encourage you to take a look at her blog… […]

  2. That makes mind-blowing sense. I mean, think about it this way. If you really are concerned about OTHER people, then you will always have something worth doing. Your life would become their’s. Whoa…

  3. This is good and very convicting. We get so caught up in getting them “Saved” and then what? or what about what’s before that? What about helping them feed their kids, get a job, buy a car, learn to sew, etc.

    I am guilty of this, so not pointing fingers. Great thoughts Maris. I would love to read the book too. 🙂

  4. Brandon- it makes sense to me too!

    Jamie- I hear ya. I feel the same way. It is so hard to adjust your mentality to constantly be thinking of others instead of yourself.

  5. Such a convicting, binding, yet freeing statement. It soberingly sheds light on my own selfish nature, defines our purpose as Christians to love and serve others, and disassociates me with the narrow-minded bigotry that is the general perception of Christianity.

    I need to buy this book.

  6. Hey Maris- I just checked out your blog. You might not even read this b/c I’m kind of late on this post. However, I just wanted to say thanks for posting it. This quote echoes the thoughts that float in my mind constantly. I want to be a person that makes a life out of helping others and yesterday my heart was heavy with how I could do that in New Orleans. I strongly desire to help and love the children here who’s parents work from 8a-10p and the kids stay at a crummy, dirty, day care all day with tired, cranky, women. I have no idea how this will work but after seeing your quote today, I know if you have big dreams, they may seem impossible, but you will never know if they are possible unless you pursue them.

  7. Crystin- thanks for the comment girl! My husband and I were in NO like a year after the storm hit. It was crazy to see how much was not finished. There is still so much work to be done there. Pursue those dreams girl. You never know who you might touch.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

