Fulfillment

February 2, 2008 at 11:12 pm | Posted in God, Life, Questions, The American Dream, Thoughts on God | 1 Comment

I started thinking about how to explain fulfillment to someone. What is fulfillment? I found these definitions in the dictionary:

  1. To bring into actuality; effect: fulfilled their promises.
  2. To carry out (an order, for example).
  3. To measure up to; satisfy. See Synonyms at perform, satisfy.
  4. To bring to an end; complete.
1. the act or state of fulfilling: to witness the fulfillment of a dream; to achieve fulfillment of one’s hopes.
2. the state or quality of being fulfilled; completion; realization: a vague plan that had no hope of fulfillment.
3. the process or business of handling and executing customer orders, as packing, shipping, or processing checks.

I then started to question, “Am I fulfilled?” Like every christian should immediately recite, “of course I am fulfilled I have God in my life”. I wanted to go deeper than this church answer though and really look at my life.

It looks by these definitions that you have to do something in order to be fulfilled. “completion, carry out, bring into actuality, dream, and so on.”

If seems as if when I look around that this life can be somewhat of a rat race. We think we will be fulfilled if we make a lot of money, if we are married, if we have children, if we get respect, great cars, big house and the list goes on and on. Is it not true that when we want one thing we get it and then we are on to the next thing? For example, I wanted so long to have a husband. I now have the most amazing husband that words could ever describe. He loves me so deeply, he has worked his freaking tale off to provide for us, he is a man who chases his dreams, he thinks out of the box, he loves God deeply. What more could you ask for? Does he completely fulfill me? No. I have the husband, now I want the baby. When I have that baby I will love it with every power of my being, provide for it, and be the best mom ever to it. Then what? I will want another baby. It seems to be an endless cycle. My marriage is beautiful but when I start expecting Steven to fulfill every part of me we start having problems. When I don’t get that baby in enough time I start getting angry with God.

So in this category of fulfillment, what role does God play in it? How does God fulfill you? I have my ideas and answers but I wanted to open it up to everyone. What part of fulfillment does God play in your life? If God is not a part of your life then what fulfills you? Why do we need God?

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. well done, brother


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

