My favorite shoes

January 20, 2008 at 6:28 pm | Posted in Church, Consumption, God, love, poverty | 7 Comments

This morning for church I decided to dress up a little and wear my favorite pair of shoes. These shoes are hand me downs from Laura. I could care less that they are hand me downs. They are black zip up boots that fit me perfect that are the exact height that Steven loves! I love these shoes. I went to church and I sat as we continue talking about missions. This morning one of our pastor’s challenged us in a way that I was not expecting. The messages have been about the need for people to get off their butts and do something for this world. There are huge needs that have to be met and it is our responsibility to go and meet these needs. He later challenged us to take off our shoes that we came in with and donate them to the Soles for Souls organization that provides shoes for people all over the world that don’t have shoes. God has been doing so much in my heart here lately about obediance and being open to change and giving up something when He asked me to.  Well today I was faced with a small step. I want to tell you how freeing it was to give up my favorite pair of shoes for somebody who doesn’t have any. It didn’t feel like it was enough. I wanted to do more and that was a feeling I was not expecting. I think it is about 16 degrees here in Murfreesboro and I was late so I had to park far away. What a sweet walk to my car it was. It is the least I can do. I was so thankful for the challenge this morning!

7 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. That might have been the sweetest thing I have ever heard! I love you!

  2. Maris,
    I am so glad I am on this journey of life with you. I am so glad we both got some good use out of those boots. The truth that I love about them is that they were $8 once and I bought them at payless on a day in my life that I hoped no one would ask me where I got them from. That would just be too uncool to say payless. Needless to say God has done a miracle in my heart and is slowly but surely showing me true value instead of the value we have put on “things”. I bet $200 boots have done less good for a whole lot of people. I pray that the lady that recieves those boots walks in confidence and knows that without the love of God they would have never walked to her. I love you girl, Laura

  3. I am not very religious but I love this post! I love hearing about people who give more than they take and that is what you did today!

    love love
    Ali

  4. I loved this… because I SO would not have given up my favorite pair of shoes. I have bought less than 5 or 6 pairs of shoes in the last 10 years. I have comfy goodwill and hand.me.down clothes I have worn for decades and don’t have plans on upgrading. I would laugh if someone called me materialistic…I have been called many things, never that. But, still when I imagined handing over my trusty, faithful, decade old shoes…I know I would have rather driven home, gotten another pair of so.so.. shoes, driven back and tried to justify my selfishness. I told my friend just the other day…”I can’t believe these shoestrings are still holding on…I am going to have to ebay for backup.” She said laughing” You are going to have to go to therapy when those shoes fall apart…maybe you should go now to some kind of letting go seminar..haha.” …this was just what I needed to realize they are just a stinking pair of shoes (probably literally ha)…thanks Maris.. love coming here.

  5. Teresa, haha you crack me up girl! I wish I could say that I have only bought 5 or 6 pairs of shoes in the last 10 years. I have a serious problem and could also use some therapy for not buying shoes!! I love them for some reason. I am trying so hard to simplify my closet and house. I have gotten rid of at least half of the clothing and shoes I own. It feels wonderful! I just wasn’t expecting to get rid of those shoes 🙂 Thanks for the comment.

  6. Oh this just really hit me hard. I love that you are at a church that has a pastor that would think about those things and present that challange. I kept thinking to myself…. what would I do? I mean I would give up my shoes I know but would I have one thought not too? Would I find myslelf in any moments of hesitation. I am hoping not but I don’t know. And to leave the shoes behind and to take that shoeless walk to your car. How good how sweet. Thanks for sharing this. It really has found it’s way stirring my heart today!

  7. This is an awesome story!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

