My first taste of Christmas

December 2, 2007 at 3:50 am | Posted in adoption, Christmas, Family, Life | 5 Comments

Well I was REALLY missing my baby tonight while he is in Austin and my wonderful parents came to the rescue!! I love my nights out with my parents. I don’t know what I would do without them. We went and grabbed Pei Wei and headed over to the Avenue. It was great walking around with both of them at different times. I love my different relationships that I have with my mom and dad. I love how much God blended their personalities and how I am a little like both of them. I am so very very thankful for their support and prayers as we walk through life all together. They have been wonderful about adoption and I know its not the norm but I know how much they are really trying to meet us where we are and I am so grateful for that. I love our talks and their encouragment.

While we were walking around I realized I have been out of the whole “Christmas” season so far. Yes I know its only been like a week but still. I am just soooo not in the Christmas spirit this season. Maybe it is good for me to remember the fact that it is a time we celebrate God sending His son that saved humanity to this earth. I hate that that part of Christmas is so over looked. I have not put ONE thought to Christmas gifts this year. Maybe I will make all of them. That sounds so fun to me 🙂

I don’t mean to be a downer but I just can’t stand all this hype. This one lady tonight was in this store and I was overhearing her talk about all the candles she was buying ($25 a candle) to put all over her house. They were all Christmas scents and she was very loudly talking about all the rooms in her house she needed these candles in. One of them was a certain color and she was saying that it would look great on top of her granite counter tops. I bet she spent like $150 on candles. I know I know that was so mean for me to vent about but I have a point.

I know that some people get tired of hearing how poor other parts of the world are and how the homeless could really use our help but I think it is healthy for us always to be aware of the needs of others. I know that I can get so caught up in my own self centered world and not see needs right in front of my face. I guess I would just like to encourage people to maybe not spend as much on gifts this year and maybe think about taking part of that money and doing something to bless someone with a NEED. Like a real need. Whether it be someone at work who needs help with groceries, a homeless man walking down the street, the children that Compassion International has to sponser or maybe a neighbor who can’t buy anything for her kids this Christmas. There are needs EVERYWHERE. If you are not around needs then maybe you need to get out more!! Maybe some of you would even think about being a child’s forever family and adopting them into your own home. I know that there is a major need for several families at Bethany Christian Services right now. They sent out an email this week! Maybe you could send them some gift cards to help out some of the sweet girls who walk into that office as mommies faced with a tough decision. There are needs everywhere all of the time. Not just at Christmas. Steven and I are working on this being the habit of our life. When we see a need we try our best to meet it.

I LOVE buying gifts for my friends and family. Really I do. I really like the idea of doing meaningful gifts this year. Gifts that I make or a gift that somebody couldn’t just run out and buy for themselves. I am trying to not be such a downer. My Christmas tree is still sitting in my attic and I honestly don’t know if it will come down this year. Its so big. Maybe something small. I just want to use this commercial holiday to make a difference in people’s lives!

5 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. amen. i love you!

  2. i miss you maris!! i think we’re going to come to mboro for an afternoon while we’re in TN for Christmas. Steven is going to take pictures for us. I can’t wait to see you & to get all caught up!! love you!

  3. Maris, I have to tell you, we were watching (are watching) “whats with that Christmas house” on HGTV and I have said no less than 4 times, “that electric bill could feed a family for a year in Haiti” or other such not so nice things to the ridiculous people spending 800-1000 dollars a month for CHRISTMAS LIGHTS!!!!!!!!! That is insane. I am struggling in this area as well. I have the Christmas spirit but I want to make the best decisions for not only our family but families we could help as well. You are awesome my friend!!!!!

  4. having spent several hours with your husband last week, it’s very apparent that your hearts are both beating with the same thoughts. we were very blessed by our time with him, and hearing about his love for Christ, for missions, and especially for you!

    we share the same thoughts about Christmas that you and Steven do….thank you for being bold enough to put yours out for us to read!!

    have you seen the website: http://www.adventconspiracy.com? was started last year by Ecclesia church, here in Houston.

  5. I love reading your blog. It seems like you are saying a lot of things that are swimming around in my head.

    What are you thinking about making?


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

