Time to be honest

August 20, 2007 at 4:14 am | Posted in Uncategorized | 3 Comments

I feel like I need to vent a little.
I am sure that a lot of you have seen the allegations against Two Rivers and Jerry Sutton. I sat here tonight on my couch watching the news and crying as this man who I have heard countless sermons from speak to the church in which he has served, in true brokeness while it is plastered all over the news. My heart breaks to see the church in which I grew up in taking such a hit right now.
I have to admit that I am beyond furious with these people who have made these allegations. I am beyond pissed off with these people who I have been taught in THEIR OWN Sunday School classes destroy a man’s reputation. I am having a hard time knowing how to deal with all of these emotions. Honestly my first reaction (being the emotional fireball that I tend to be sometimes) is to pick up the phone and tell them that I am so disappointed with their actions and everything that has ever come out of their mouth is a lie to me. But I have not.
My heart is torn to pieces for this man’s family and the suffering and embarrissment that they have had to endure. I am beyond pissed that when the outside world looks in and takes the new’s word that YET ANOTHER christian leader has fallen. I hate that the whole story is never told. I have NO FREAKING CLUE why people think that it is in some way bringing glory to God by taking anything to the news and telling the world about disagreements within a church. Why are people so mean? I don’t care how badly you have been hurt by anyone in this world, does the Bible not make it pretty clear that we are to love our enemies? Does the Bible say anything about destroying a man’s reputation and shaming his family? I have to remember to not let my emotions towards these people become bitterness. I am having a hard time right now and cannot imagine what Bro Jerry is going through. None of us are perfect. Why can’t we love each other? Why does it have to come to this? Why can’t they just leave if they are that upset? If they only knew the enemy who is behind all of this. I know my God is big. I know that He works all things together for the good of those who love Him.
God I don’t even know what to ask for?

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I understand exactly where you are coming from. Bro. Jerry is the only pastor I have known from birth until marriage and moving off. It saddens me and hurts my heart, for different reasons than you. But I am very disappointed as well. It could have been handled differently. As far as the press, you know how they are. They love to dirty a good name.
    On another note, it was great to see you at Alison’s baby shower.

  2. Christy- So great to see you too! Thanks for the comment. Do you have a blog?

  3. http://www.therhynefamily.blogspot.com


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

