I just learned something

August 20, 2007 at 2:14 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 2 Comments

I am going through Beth Moore’s “A heart like His” Bible study on David. Today it was about David and Jonathen (Saul’s son). I have often read this story but never realized the magnitude of Jonathan’s sacrifice. The scripture is 1 Samuel 18:1-4. Jonathan loves David and give him his robe, tunic and weapons. I always thought to myself while reading this, “that was really sweet of him. I want to give to my friends sacrificially just like Jonathan.” Today I learned the symbolism behind it all. Jonathan is Saul’s son. He is next in line for king. He gave over his position to be king to David. He loved him, considered him to be a man with the character of a king and gave over his position to be king. Beth goes on to compare David and Jonathan’s love to that of God and Israel. I have never noticed that David does not recipricate Jonathan’s love back to him at this time. Just like Israel and God. Jonathen just loved David and gave over blessings to him. God’s love is based on his love only not the love given back to him. Thank you Lord that your love for me is not based on what I give back to you but rather your committment to love me. She says here that God loves because He chooses to. Why do we think we rule our own lives? We are His because He chooses to even want us. She gives this passage: 1 John 4:10, 15.
“This is love: not that we loved God, but that he loved us and sent his Son as an atoning sacrifice for our sins… If anyone acknowledges that Jesus is the Son of God, God lives in him and he in God.”
I wonder if we loved back the way God loves us to each other how different this world would be. How many marriages would still be together and healthier than ever. What if I loved my husband and stay committed to him not based on the love that he gives me but because I committed to loving him? I love him because God has loved me first and therefore I can love. Not based on the amount of love that he gives me back. Why do I ever pull back on my committment to love God? Why do I run from him when he loves and is committed to me in this way? I have a lot to think about today.

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Love this. Thanks for sharing.

    Since I did the 7 week study with the church I can’t find my book. I am needing it. I think it might have gotten packed. 😦 I think you are up for discussion night at your house!!!! 😉

  2. It’s still exciting how the more we know God, the more we know how to love those around us. The more we love our husbands, the more we love our children and friends. God continues to teach and reveal himself to us more day after day. I can truly say that 18 years later, (wow, I’m old) I love my husband more deeply than I ever imagined. I thought I loved him as much as I possibly could when we first married. The closer I grow to God, the closer I grow to Kent! Hmm, this house is gonna be HOT at 50 years! It is so true that as we understand God’s love for us, he gives us the desire and ability to love others more. Thanks for the reminder of how blessed we are to be in His hands! Shawnah


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

