God’s Faithfulness

May 24, 2007 at 2:57 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 3 Comments

Romans 8:28
And we know that God causes all things to work together for good to those who love God, to those who are called according to His purpose.

This last week I have felt God pursuing my heart. I was challened this week by a great man of God named Coach Fred. Ronnie is very blessed to have this man in his life everyday as his basketball coach up at Moody.
I have found a pattern in myself of worrying whether things will work out. I worry about outcomes. I did this this weekend in Texas. I had voiced some of this worrying to Coach and he looked at me and said, “Maris- do you not believe that God works all things together for the good of those who love him?” I was challenged in that moment with my belief in the word of God. Do I live my life BELIEVING and walking in this truth that God has put in his word. I know it in my head and could quote that verse to you- but I will be honest, I have not laid my life on top of this verse and taken my feet off the ground. The more in which I thought about this verse the more I could look back in my life and see the evidence. Example- If you know us you know that the summer months are very challenging for us. As I look back every summer God has provided strength and random chances to see my husband while he has been gone. The details of me getting off of work have always worked out. God has his mighty hand in my life. I think about Joseph in the Bible. He was arrested for a crime he did not do. Again he stayed faithful and God worked it together for good. This life is not about me and things working out for my good. I will tell you that my trust in the Father has grown this week. I trust him more and I am not worrying as much. This verse has brought so much freedom.

I have been thinking here lately about why we sing worship songs. This weekend as I sat under Spur leading worship we sang a song that they sing often. This song is called Majesty by Delirious.

Here I am humbled by your Majesty
Covered by your grace so free
Here I am, knowing I’m a sinful man
Covered by the blood of the Lamb

Now I’ve found the greatest love of all is mine
Since you laid down your life
The greatest sacrifice

Majesty, Majesty
Your grace has found me just as I am
Empty handed, but alive in your hands
Majesty, Majesty
Forever I am changed by your love
In the presence of your Majesty

Here I am humbled by the love that you give
Forgiven so that I can forgive
Here I stand, knowing that I’m your desire
Sanctified by glory and fire

Now I’ve found the greatest love of all is mine
Since you laid down your life
The greatest sacrifice

This song reminded me of great truths of our faith that we hold on to. There are lines in this song I need to be reminded of everyday.
As I was singing, I imagined myself out in some african jungle (stay with me- I am not crazy) hot, dehidrated, lifeless and alone. In this state I had no idea how to provide anything for myself. I had no idea what to eat or how to find anything to drink. I was alone and dying and no one knew where I was. I was going to die alone. God pursued me and found me. When he found me I was dead. I imagined this as my spiritual condition. He has found me dead with nothing to offer him. I am empty handed and the only way to stay alive is when I am in his hands. I am nothing without him. Thank you Lord for choosing me even though I have nothing to offer! I have truly found the greatest love of all. This is the reason I love to sing worship songs. They spark thoughts and remind me of his love. I need to be reminded that I am dead without him.
There is so much more to this song but these are just a couple thoughts I had while singing it.

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Romans 8:28 is my “life verse”
    It is the one i cling to in my darkest times and the one i hear over and over in moments of joy.

  2. i love the beauty and transparency of your thoughts… i needed to hear this today.

    so… god works all things together for the good of those who love him–even when we make bad decisions?

    i love you!

  3. So how do I get my heart to catch up to my head? I know that sounds so backwards…but I know these things in my head…I just don’t always feel them. I WANT TO FEEL IT!!!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

